IMG_1996For Volume 4, we’re gonna talk about chakras. A Sanskrit word for wheel or disk, a chakra is an energy center within the body. There are seven major chakras; learning the functions of each and wearing their associated colors can help keep the chakras aligned.

Muladhara – Root/Base Chakra (red)



The Root Chakra relates to how grounded and connected to the Earth we feel. Located at the base of the spine, we chose to start with this chakra because it is where energy begins to flow as it rises to the top of the head. Qualities linked to the Root Chakra include: matters of the physical world, health, and individuality.


Svadhisthana – Sacral/Navel Chakra (orange)



The Sacral Chakra is associated with sexual energy and physical vitality. It is connected to water and stones including carnelian, coral, amber and gold topaz. One can wear orange-colored waistbeads to bring attention to the Sacral Chakra and help it stay in balance.


Manipura – Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow)



The Solar Plexus is located above the navel. It is linked to the nervous and digestive systems and emotions. Qualities associated with the solar plexus include humor, self-control, and energy. Healing crystals such as citrine and tiger eye increase energy flow; visualization can enhance the balancing of the Solar Plexus Chakra.


Anahata – Heart Chakra (green)



The Heart Chakra is a center of love, compassion, and devotion. It energizes one’s blood and, in addition to the color green, is connected to the color pink. Emerald, rose quartz, malachite, and green aventurine are all useful healing stones when working to balance your heart chakra.


Vishudda – Throat Chakra (blue)


The Throat Chakra relates to speech and communication, as well as self-expression. Qualities associated with this chakra include: honesty, integrity and truth. It also benefits from the power of blue crystals and stones such as turquoise, aquamarine, and celestite.


Ajna – Third Eye/Brow Chakra (indigo)



The Third Eye Chakra is located at the center of the forehead/between the eyebrows. It is associated with the mind and relates to one’s intuition, insight, and imagination. The Third Eye Chakra is also associated with the pineal gland, which is located in the center of the brain and behind the eyes.


Sahasrara – Crown Chakra (violet)



The Crown Chakra is aptly located at the top of the head (although, some say above the head). This chakra benefits from deep meditation; when balanced, it is a center of pure consciousness. Qualities associated with The Crown Chakra include: divine wisdom, idealism, and spiritual will.


Photographer: Dream

Creative Director & Stylist: Shante


Root, Solar Plexus, and Crown Chakras: Dalia

Sacral and Third Eye Chakras: Khadija

Throat and Heart Chakras: Habiba

Notes about chakras were learned through The Chakra Awareness Guide by A.M.I. and The Chakra Bible by Patricia Mercier.


One thought on “Aligned.

  1. Pingback: The 2018 Fleurish Color Of The Year Is… | fleurish1994

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s